Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Insurance Law Commons™

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Discipline
Institution
Keyword
Publication Year
Publication
Publication Type
File Type

Articles 3001 - 3030 of 3228

Full-Text Articles in Insurance Law

Insurance--Effect Of Delivery Of Life Insurance Policy To Agent, Jo M. Ferguson Jan 1939

Insurance--Effect Of Delivery Of Life Insurance Policy To Agent, Jo M. Ferguson

Kentucky Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Life Insurance--Change Of Beneficiary In A Policy In Which Right To Make Such A Change Has Been Reserved To The Insured--Kentucky Rule, Jo M. Ferguson Jan 1939

Life Insurance--Change Of Beneficiary In A Policy In Which Right To Make Such A Change Has Been Reserved To The Insured--Kentucky Rule, Jo M. Ferguson

Kentucky Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Administrative Control Of Insurance In Kentucky, Richard Bush Jr. Jan 1939

Administrative Control Of Insurance In Kentucky, Richard Bush Jr.

Kentucky Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Insurance--"Participation In Aeronautics" In Aircraft Clause, As Applicable To A Passenger, Richard Bush Jr. Jan 1939

Insurance--"Participation In Aeronautics" In Aircraft Clause, As Applicable To A Passenger, Richard Bush Jr.

Kentucky Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Insurance - Supervision By The State - What Constitutes The Insurance Business, Thomas E. Wilson Dec 1938

Insurance - Supervision By The State - What Constitutes The Insurance Business, Thomas E. Wilson

Michigan Law Review

Plaintiff, a corporation, advertised that any person who bought goods from certain selected stores would be entitled to receive coupons, and when his coupons amounted to a certain sum he would be entitled to certain death and security benefits up to specified amounts. Plaintiff brought suit against the Insurance Commissioner of Pennsylvania to enjoin him from interfering with the plaintiff's business. Held, that the plaintiff was carrying on an insurance business and was subject to supervision by the Insurance Commissioner. Hunt v. Public Mutual Benefit Foundation, (C. C. A. 3d, 1938) 94 F. (2d) 749, certiorari denied (U. …


Life Insurance Proceeds As Community Property, Russell V. Hokanson Nov 1938

Life Insurance Proceeds As Community Property, Russell V. Hokanson

Washington Law Review

The past year has witnessed the closing by judicial decision of two important gaps in the Washington community property law, both relating to life insurance proceeds. The first case in point of time, Occidental Life Insurance Company v. Powers, announced the rule that where the husband changes the beneficiary of a life insurance policy which is the property of the community because issued on the life of the husband during marriage and paid for with community funds, without the consent or knowledge of the wife, the former beneficiary, the attempted gift by the husband is ineffective and the wife may …


Insurance - When Is A Person Engaging In The Insurance Business, Thomas E. Wilson Nov 1938

Insurance - When Is A Person Engaging In The Insurance Business, Thomas E. Wilson

Michigan Law Review

Defendant was secretary of a retail grocers association which maintained a so-called "Plate Glass Fund," for members only, administered by the defendant without compensation. The members paid into the fund a certain sum annually, depending on the amount of glass they wanted protected, and in the event of breakage it was replaced. Surplus funds were returned to the members. The certificates of membership expressly stipulated that the fund was not an insurance or indemnity company. Defendant was prosecuted and convicted for conducting an unauthorized insurance business. Held, the defendant was engaging in the insurance business, and conviction was sustained. …


Insurance-Presumption Of Survivorship Aug 1938

Insurance-Presumption Of Survivorship

Indiana Law Journal

No abstract provided.


The Incontestability Clause In Life Insurance Policies, E. H. B. Jun 1938

The Incontestability Clause In Life Insurance Policies, E. H. B.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


Insurance - Material Misrepresentations - Matter Of Fact Or Of Law-"Medical Consultation" Cases, Michigan Law Review Apr 1938

Insurance - Material Misrepresentations - Matter Of Fact Or Of Law-"Medical Consultation" Cases, Michigan Law Review

Michigan Law Review

Statutes, in some two-thirds of the forty-eight states, have the approximate effect of changing all warranties in life insurance policies into representations. And in most of the remaining states the courts have interpreted statements of the applicant as representations rather than warranties wherever there has been room for doubt, to avoid the harshness of the rules governing a breach of warranty. The effect of all this is to eliminate immaterial misrepresentations of fact from the list of the insurer's possible defenses, and to increase the importance of determining when a misrepresentation is material, and by whom that inquiry is to …


Contract For The Benefit Of Third Persons--Liability Of Insurer On Malpractice Policy To Injured Party, H. G. W. Feb 1938

Contract For The Benefit Of Third Persons--Liability Of Insurer On Malpractice Policy To Injured Party, H. G. W.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


Limitation Of Actions--Statute Of Limitations Applied To Quasi-Contractual Rights Arising Upon Anticipatory Breach Of An Existing Contract, A. L. B. Feb 1938

Limitation Of Actions--Statute Of Limitations Applied To Quasi-Contractual Rights Arising Upon Anticipatory Breach Of An Existing Contract, A. L. B.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


Interpretation Of Disability Insurance Policies - New England Life Insurance Co. V. Hurst Jan 1938

Interpretation Of Disability Insurance Policies - New England Life Insurance Co. V. Hurst

Maryland Law Review

No abstract provided.


Duty Of Liability Insurer To Compromise Litigation, John A. Appleman Jan 1938

Duty Of Liability Insurer To Compromise Litigation, John A. Appleman

Kentucky Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Interpretation Of Disability Insurance Policies - New England Life Insurance Co. V. Hurst Jan 1938

Interpretation Of Disability Insurance Policies - New England Life Insurance Co. V. Hurst

Maryland Law Review

No abstract provided.


Judgments - Declaratory Judgments - Scope Of The Federal Act, Michigan Law Review Jan 1938

Judgments - Declaratory Judgments - Scope Of The Federal Act, Michigan Law Review

Michigan Law Review

After the insured had made formal claims for total disability benefits for four years without bringing action to enforce them, the insurer, having at all times denied the total disability of the insured, brought suit in a federal district court for a declaration that it was not liable for the benefits claimed and that the policies had lapsed for non-payment of premiums. The district court granted a motion to dismiss because the insurer failed to present a "controversy" within the Federal Constitution and the Declaratory Judgments Act and because the insurer had no "rights or other legal relations" to be …


Aviation And Life Insurance, Robert A. Adams Dec 1937

Aviation And Life Insurance, Robert A. Adams

Indiana Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Insurance - When Contracts For Contingent Performance Of Acts Other Than Payment Of Money Constitute Insurance, Charles W. Allen Dec 1937

Insurance - When Contracts For Contingent Performance Of Acts Other Than Payment Of Money Constitute Insurance, Charles W. Allen

Michigan Law Review

A recent case presents the many difficulties that confront the courts in determining whether a given contract is one of insurance. Plaintiff was a glazier. For a fixed payment he agreed with his customers that during a certain period he would repair and replace, if broken, their store-front glass. Penal proceedings were instituted against plaintiff for failure to comply with the insurance laws. He brought an action to enjoin prosecution of the proceedings. It was held that the contracts were not insurance contracts and that plaintiff was entitled to the injunction.


Damages - Insurance Contract - Right To Recover Present Worth Of Future Payments On Life Policy, James W. Mehaffy Dec 1937

Damages - Insurance Contract - Right To Recover Present Worth Of Future Payments On Life Policy, James W. Mehaffy

Michigan Law Review

An insurance policy provided for the payment of 3 1/2 per cent interest on the amount due beneficiaries until they attained the age of 21, then payment of the entire amount. The policy also contained a double indemnity clause. The insured died under circumstances leaving it doubtful whether the double amount should be paid. Upon application by the guardian of the minor beneficiaries for payment of the double amount in the manner stipulated, the defendant company refused payment of more than the face value of the policy on the ground that the proofs of accidental death were not sufficient. Plaintiff …


Insurance - Automobile Insurance - "Passengers For Consideration", Jacob L. Keidan Nov 1937

Insurance - Automobile Insurance - "Passengers For Consideration", Jacob L. Keidan

Michigan Law Review

In an action upon an automobile liability insurance policy, defendant sought to avoid liability by proof of voluntary payments made to the insured by the plaintiff subsequent to the beginning of the trip. It was held that since no agreement for payment was made prior to the trip the insured was not then carrying "passengers for consideration" within the meaning of the clause contained in the policy for the purpose of protecting the insurer against such use of the vehicle. Reed v. Bloom, (D. C. Okla. 1936) 15 F. Supp. 600.


Responsibility For Mistakes In Application Made By Agents Of Insurance Company, W. V. R. Jun 1937

Responsibility For Mistakes In Application Made By Agents Of Insurance Company, W. V. R.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


Conflict Of Laws--Constitutional Law--Full Faith And Credit To Public Acts, J. E. C. Apr 1937

Conflict Of Laws--Constitutional Law--Full Faith And Credit To Public Acts, J. E. C.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company V. Marie H. Justis Mar 1937

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company V. Marie H. Justis

Virginia Supreme Court Records, Volume 168

Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia at Richmond


Insurance - Execution For A Criminal Offense, Herman J. Bloom Mar 1937

Insurance - Execution For A Criminal Offense, Herman J. Bloom

Michigan Law Review

The insured was convicted and legally executed for the crime of rape. The beneficiary sued on a life insurance policy which contained no express exemption from liability in the event of death resulting from the legal execution of the insured. The court held that the beneficiary was entitled to recover under the public policy as declared in the constitutional provision against corruption of blood and forfeiture of estate. Progressive Life Insurance Co. v. Dean, (Ark. 1936) 97 S. W. (2d) 62.


Insurance--Receipt On Back Of Check Not Binding Unless Supported By Consideration, C. A. P. Jr. Feb 1937

Insurance--Receipt On Back Of Check Not Binding Unless Supported By Consideration, C. A. P. Jr.

West Virginia Law Review

No abstract provided.


Estoppel-Continuance In Defense Of Action Not Covered By Policy Feb 1937

Estoppel-Continuance In Defense Of Action Not Covered By Policy

Indiana Law Journal

No abstract provided.


Insurance - Life Insurance -Waiver Of Premiums During Disability, Charles W. Allen Feb 1937

Insurance - Life Insurance -Waiver Of Premiums During Disability, Charles W. Allen

Michigan Law Review

Action by guardian of the insured, who had become insane, for disability benefits under a life insurance policy and for a decree that the policy had not lapsed. The policy contained a typical provision for waiver of premiums and benefit payments during disability. No proof of disability was made until after default in premium payments. Held, that the insured's insanity did not excuse the failure to make proof before default and the policy had lapsed. Reingold v. New York Life Ins. Co., (C. C. A. 9th, 1936) 85 F. (2d) 776.


Damages - Insurance Contract - Recovery Of Present Worth Of Unmatured Installments, Milton Rabinowitz, Jacob I. Veissman Dec 1936

Damages - Insurance Contract - Recovery Of Present Worth Of Unmatured Installments, Milton Rabinowitz, Jacob I. Veissman

Michigan Law Review

After paying the twenty-three monthly benefits according to the provisions in the plaintiff's policy relating to total and permanent disability, the defendant decided that the plaintiff was no longer totally disabled, and thereupon stopped the monthly payments, demanded payment of premiums, and, when premiums were not paid, declared the policy lapsed on its books. Plaintiff brought suit, alleging continuance of his disability and repudiation of the insurance contract by the defendant, and he claimed as damages installments already due and installments that would mature during the period of his life expectancy. Defendant demurred. Held, there has been no such …


Insurance Beneficiary's Right To Recover When He Has Caused Death Of Insured, Michigan Law Review Dec 1936

Insurance Beneficiary's Right To Recover When He Has Caused Death Of Insured, Michigan Law Review

Michigan Law Review

The insured died from bullet wounds inflicted by a revolver in the hand of the beneficiary. After there had been an indictment for murder the beneficiary pleaded guilty to so much of the indictment as charged manslaughter. The beneficiary sued on the insurance policy. The Supreme Court of Massachusetts held that there was error in directing a verdict for the insurer because a beneficiary who is guilty of manslaughter, where there was no intentional injury of a kind likely to cause death, is not barred from recovering on the policy. Minasian v. Aetna Life Insurance Co., (Mass. 1936) 3 …


Jury-Voir Dire-Actions For Negligence-Asking As To Interest In An Insurance Company, Michigan Law Review Dec 1936

Jury-Voir Dire-Actions For Negligence-Asking As To Interest In An Insurance Company, Michigan Law Review

Michigan Law Review

During the trial for injuries received in an automobile collision the plaintiff's attorney asked each prospective juror as to whether or not he owned stock in a named insurance company, or held a policy with it, or was an agent for it, and other questions as to whether or not the interest of an insurance company in the action would affect his decisions in the case. The company was not in fact a party to the action. The defendant assigned as error that such questions caused the jury to believe that the defendant carried insurance against loss from damages such …