Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Education Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Articles 1 - 16 of 16

Full-Text Articles in Education

Why Ask Why?, Beth Kraemer, Beth Fuchs, Jennifer Hootman, Debbie Sharp Feb 2019

Why Ask Why?, Beth Kraemer, Beth Fuchs, Jennifer Hootman, Debbie Sharp

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


The Future Of The History Of Design, Patrick Lucas, Helen Turner, Trey Conatser Feb 2019

The Future Of The History Of Design, Patrick Lucas, Helen Turner, Trey Conatser

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


Teaching Stem For The Public Good, Rita Basuray Feb 2019

Teaching Stem For The Public Good, Rita Basuray

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


The Limits Of Pedagogy, Kelsey Moore Feb 2019

The Limits Of Pedagogy, Kelsey Moore

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


On Rapport: Connecting With Students, Brandi Frisby Feb 2019

On Rapport: Connecting With Students, Brandi Frisby

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


Ten First Years, Jennifer Osterhage Feb 2019

Ten First Years, Jennifer Osterhage

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


Front Matter Feb 2019

Front Matter

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.


Against The Clock, Trey Conatser Sep 2017

Against The Clock, Trey Conatser

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

In The Slow Professor, Maggie Berg and Barbara K. Seeber's thoughtful contribution to the conversation on academic labor is to challenge what often goes without saying: that it's good to be more efficient, to be faster, to manage as many tasks as possible at once. How can we practice slowness and pleasure in thoughtful ways for the good of our disciplines and colleagues and, more importantly, for those whom our decisions and actions affect profoundly?


The Apparition Of These Screens In The Crowd, Trey Conatser Sep 2017

The Apparition Of These Screens In The Crowd, Trey Conatser

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

To unpack some of our assumptions about attention, learning, and technology in the classroom, CELT's Trey Conatser spoke with Dr. Yuha Jung and Dr. Rachel Shane of the Department of Arts Administration. Jung and Shane have worked with colleagues to integrate technologies into their teaching so that students are more likely to be on task. What follows is an informal exploration of what it means to pay attention and to learn in the context of the contested value of digital technologies.


The Building Blocks Of History, Nicole Martin Sep 2017

The Building Blocks Of History, Nicole Martin

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

Dr. Steve Davis is an Assistant Professor of History at the University of Kentucky, where he teaches precolonial and modern South African history using the popular video game Minecraft. CELT's Dr. Nicole Martin asked Dr. Davis about his goals for student learning, and how he encourages students to develop skills in historical analysis through virtual world-building.


Designing For Universal Success, Nicole Martin, Trey Conatser Sep 2017

Designing For Universal Success, Nicole Martin, Trey Conatser

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

Dr. Deb Castiglione is the Universal Design and Instructional Technology Specialist at CELT. She has worked to get a campus-wide license at the University of Kentucky for the software Read&Write Gold, which follows principles of universal design for learning. We asked Dr. Castiglione about what the software can do for learners, and why we should think more about inclusive practices such as universal design in our teaching.


On Cheating And Prosperity, Trey Conatser Sep 2017

On Cheating And Prosperity, Trey Conatser

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

At the outset of a new academic year, we'd do well to reflect on how we pitch academic integrity—and the concept of cheating—to our students. Not only does it affect how they see us as teachers and scholars; it also affects in profound ways how we see (or don't see) students as complex human beings. And this asks us to go against our gut reactions to the apparent moral legibility of cheating. If we understand cheating as an evasive concept, and as a product of our institutions, we're much less likely to incentivize it.


Facilitating An Intergenerational Classroom, Lee Ferrell Sep 2017

Facilitating An Intergenerational Classroom, Lee Ferrell

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

At the beginning of the 2016-17 academic year, Needham Yancey Gulley published an Inside Higher Edarticle challenging educators to move away from a seemingly dated term—nontraditional—because it labeled students in a way that could harm their opportunities in the classroom. At the same time, there really are differences among and between the generations, as both the academic literature and popular culture attest. Rather than enjoying a cohesive or intergenerational approach, Millennials, Gen Xers, and Baby Boomers are often pitted against one another in what The Washington Post calls “generational warfare.” This essay considers ways to facilitate an ...


Entitled Or Engaged?, Kate Collins Sep 2017

Entitled Or Engaged?, Kate Collins

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

Recent student activism on campus, particularly around safe spaces, trigger warnings, and microaggressions, has led to rising criticism lobbied against millennials as a generation unwilling to engage opposing beliefs or challenging discourse. Yet, taking into consideration all that young adults navigate to pursue higher education, their dissident presence on campus does more to reveal how they actively participate in the world, including their education.


Why Black Lives (Must) Matter At Uk, Nicole Martin Sep 2017

Why Black Lives (Must) Matter At Uk, Nicole Martin

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

As a university committed to creating inclusive learning environments, we must remember that our pedagogical practices and philosophies are not crafted in insolation from our social, political, and cultural environments. The psychic and emotional injury spurred by the events of the summer of 2016 will continue to reverberate across campus as we move into the fall semester. When we boldly address the lingering effects of trauma through our pedagogical practices, we demonstrate how the campus actively creates space for the civic development of students, staff, faculty, and administration.


Front Matter Sep 2017

Front Matter

Greater Faculties: A Review of Teaching and Learning

No abstract provided.