Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Art and Design Commons

Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®

Articles 1 - 30 of 70

Full-Text Articles in Art and Design

Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Savannah Hart, Savannah L. Hart, Abigail C. Wisser Apr 2019

Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Savannah Hart, Savannah L. Hart, Abigail C. Wisser

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


How To Build A Worldview, Abigail C. Wisser Apr 2019

How To Build A Worldview, Abigail C. Wisser

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Miranda Dyson, Miranda Dyson Apr 2019

Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Miranda Dyson, Miranda Dyson

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


A Study In Vulnerability, Sarah V. Harris Apr 2019

A Study In Vulnerability, Sarah V. Harris

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Fighting For You, Sarah Harris Apr 2019

Fighting For You, Sarah Harris

Cedarville Review

12 X 9 X 7 in. ea. Wood, Acrylic, Fabric


Strong, Firm And Steadfast, Joy Prichard Apr 2019

Strong, Firm And Steadfast, Joy Prichard

Cedarville Review

Drypoint Print

Edition 5/6


Amsterdam Canals: Prinsengracht, Joy Prichard Apr 2018

Amsterdam Canals: Prinsengracht, Joy Prichard

Cedarville Review

Oil on stretched canvas,

16 x 18


A Mother's Countenance, Adrienne M. Krater Apr 2018

A Mother's Countenance, Adrienne M. Krater

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts, Andrew Graff Apr 2018

A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts, Andrew Graff

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Betta, Joy Prichard Apr 2018

Betta, Joy Prichard

Cedarville Review

Drypoint print, printmaking


Winter's Pleasure In Days Gone Past, Sarah E. Pennington Apr 2018

Winter's Pleasure In Days Gone Past, Sarah E. Pennington

Cedarville Review

This photo, taken at White Sulphur Springs' Harrison House, both recalls the spirit of winters long past and presents the reality and wistfulness of the present day.


Fantine, Meredith J. Hinks Apr 2018

Fantine, Meredith J. Hinks

Cedarville Review

"Great grief is a divine and terrible radiance which transfigures the wretched. At that moment, Fantine had again become beautiful." -- Victor Hugo, Les Miserables

Graphite on paper


The Viewer, Savannah L. Hart Apr 2018

The Viewer, Savannah L. Hart

Cedarville Review

The assignment was to make a piece fully based on color. I knew right away that I wanted my viewers to somehow wear color, be bathed in it, not just observe it. The viewer does not know what the piece is or how to interact with it until instructed to insert their hand and squeeze the overhead forms at their choosing.

The piece became a way to honor my fellow creatives: whenever my hands look like this, it is because I have been creating. My art classmates were my first participants, and I got to dress their hands in this ...


A Day On The Lake, Miranda L. Dyson Apr 2018

A Day On The Lake, Miranda L. Dyson

Cedarville Review

This linocut print shows a scene of a boat outing. Three shades of blue ink were used, on this 22"x28" print.


Fruitless Endeavors, Alex St. Onge Apr 2018

Fruitless Endeavors, Alex St. Onge

Cedarville Review

Man waits for a fish to bite on Raystown Lake.


Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Zach Benson, Abigail C. Wisser, Zachariah Benson Apr 2018

Cedarville Review Artist Spotlight: Zach Benson, Abigail C. Wisser, Zachariah Benson

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Dipped In Truth, Adrienne M. Krater Apr 2018

Dipped In Truth, Adrienne M. Krater

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Drifting Minds, Alex St. Onge Apr 2018

Drifting Minds, Alex St. Onge

Cedarville Review

Two float side-by-side in Raystown Lake, Pennsylvania.


Maui Sunset Seascape, Joy Prichard Apr 2017

Maui Sunset Seascape, Joy Prichard

Cedarville Review

Sunset over the ocean in Maui, Hawaii

11 X 17"

Oil


The Heirloom Cat, Brian Mccray Apr 2017

The Heirloom Cat, Brian Mccray

Cedarville Review

A magical cat's journey into psychedelic post-modernism.


Cedarville Review Spotlight: Dr. Charles Clevenger Apr 2017

Cedarville Review Spotlight: Dr. Charles Clevenger

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Phone Home, Alyssa A. Cody Apr 2017

Phone Home, Alyssa A. Cody

Cedarville Review

This picture brings it back to a simpler time where around the corner there would be a phone booth.


Cedarville Review Spotlight: Brian Mccray Apr 2017

Cedarville Review Spotlight: Brian Mccray

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


St. Annie, Jennifer Gammie Apr 2017

St. Annie, Jennifer Gammie

Cedarville Review

Halos show the sacred. Friendships are sacred.


What Is Bear?, Patrick Devine Apr 2017

What Is Bear?, Patrick Devine

Cedarville Review

36"x48"

Oil on canvas

This painting is the culmination of a study that explores the concept of "bearness" or, as the title suggests, "what is bear?" and sought to express visually what it means for a bear to be a bear.


Prague, Czech Republic, Adrienne M. Krater Apr 2017

Prague, Czech Republic, Adrienne M. Krater

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


Portrait Of Doug Malcolm, Brian Mccray Apr 2017

Portrait Of Doug Malcolm, Brian Mccray

Cedarville Review

Oil on cardboard, 7"x10".


Portrait Of Dominique Jackson, Brian Mccray Apr 2017

Portrait Of Dominique Jackson, Brian Mccray

Cedarville Review

Charcoal on paper.


Editors' Foreword - A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts Apr 2017

Editors' Foreword - A Christian Response To Art And Literature: A Very Short Guide To Images And Texts

Cedarville Review

No abstract provided.


It Is Morning, Brian Mccray Apr 2017

It Is Morning, Brian Mccray

Cedarville Review

'Here is the subject of the painting:

It is morning. A chicken is hatching. A young man is telling off the chicken. Here is their conversation: Hatching chicken - "You are God." Young man - "Listen here chicken. I am not who you say I am. I know my name."' - David Widder-Varhegyi

Oil on canvas, 16"x20".